API Degree
API Program Name

ICD 10 course curriculum

The ICD 10 course curriculum provides comprehensive training in converting ICD-9 into ICD-10 medical codes for billing. You will use medical terminology training and professional coding reference manuals to develop your coding transition skills.

Lesson Group 1: Orientation: Ashworth College Career Certificate Program

Learning at Ashworth  

The goals and values of Ashworth College; time management; creating a realistic weekly and monthly study schedule; the nature and purpose of assessments; how to study effectively to prepare for and take an online examination; developing the skill sets necessary for success in the twenty-first century.

Lesson Group 2: Medical and Body Systems Terminology

Medical Terminology  

Fundamentals and origins of medical terms; analyzing, defining, and creating medical terms; identifying major body structures and directional terms.

Body Systems 1  

Anatomy, physiology, and basic terminology related to the integumentary, musculoskeletal, digestive, cardiovascular, lymphatic, respiratory, endocrine, and nervous systems.

Body Systems 2  

Anatomy, physiology, and basic terminology related to the urinary and reproductive systems; gynecology, obstetrics, and neonatology terms and conditions; anatomy of the eyes and ears.

Disease Processes and Surgical Procedures  

An overview of the terminology related to major chronic and infectious diseases as well as surgical treatments for those diseases.

Lesson Group 3: Medical Coding

ICD-9-CM Coding  

History of coding; purpose of ICD-9-CM; abbreviations, symbols, typefaces, punctuation, and formatting conventions; correct code assignment; nine steps of accurate coding.

ICD-10-CM Coding  

Similarities and differences between ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes; differences between a crosswalk and mapping; general ICD-10 diagnostic coding guidelines; new features in ICD-10-PCS.

ICD-10-PCS Coding  

Guidelines for procedural coding within the hospital setting; comparison to ICD-9-CM Volume 3; an explanation of the analysis, assignment, and sequencing of ICD-10-PCS codes.

Program Description

The ICD-10 Transition certificate program provides students with the knowledge and skills needed to transition from the ICD-9-CM coding system for medical diagnoses and procedures to the ICD-10-CM/PCS coding system, as required by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)/Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Students begin with a review of medical terminology and ICD-9-CM coding procedures, learn the differences between the ICD-9 and ICD-10 systems, and receive an overview of ICD-10-CM/PCS coding procedures.

Program Objectives

After completing the ICD-10 Transition program, students will be able to do the following:

  1. Build a strong base of medical terminology and use this terminology to accurately identify and describe body planes, anatomical directions, and the major structures, functions, and pathologies of all body systems
  2. Identify the similarities and differences between ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM/PCS in terms of official guidelines for coding and reporting
  3. Identify guidelines for the conversion of ICD-9-CM codes to ICD-10-CM/PCS codes
  4. Explain the steps for accurate code assignment using the ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS coding systems

Pursue your professional goals

This ICD 10 course curriculum develops medical coding knowledge that can keep you on the cutting edge as a healthcare paraprofessional. To help you achieve your goals, you'll have unlimited access to our full range of Career Tools even after graduation.

Ready to get started?

Advance your career in our online API Program Name program. Call 1-800-957-5412